Protecting the past with an eye to the future

Projects

SS Great Britain from Launch to Re-launch

The speaker at the Street Society’s meeting on Tuesday 22 March was Ian Caskie, Talks Programme Speaker for the SS GREAT Britain Trust. Born and…

Restoration of the Kennet and Avon Canal

The Street Society’s speaker on Tuesday 26 February was David Ferns who paid tribute to Peter Jordan who put the slides and talk together but…

Wills and Probate

On Tuesday 26 January 2016, Judith Derbyshire of Purely Probate was the speaker at the Street Society’s first meeting of 2016. Judith’s topic for the…

Christmas Lunch

The Christmas Lunch for the society’s members took place at the Walton Gateway on Thursday 10th December. Twenty six members enjoyed a very sociable few…

The Rural Life Museum – Past, Present and Future

At the November Meeting of the Society on Tuesday 24th November Emma Munn gave a fantastic and enthusiastic talk entitled “The Rural Life Museum –…

Driving Safely for Longer

The Street Society meeting was held at 7.30 pm on Tuesday 27 October 2015 The topic for the evening was DRIVING SAFELY FOR LONGER and…

Annual General Meeting

The Annual General Meeting of the Society took place on Tuesday 22nd September at 7.30pm at the Methodist Church Hall, Leigh Road, Street, BA16 0HA….

Heritage Open Day

  The Street Society’s Heritage Open Day Event took place at the YHA Hostel, (The Chalet) on Ivythorn Hill, Street, Somerset on Sunday 13th September….

Merriman Park Fun Day

The Street Society supported the Merriman Park Fun Day in Street on Saturday 5th September. Street Parish Council has taken back ownership of Merriman Park…

Celebration of the 150th Anniversary of birth of Laurence Housman

A perfect summer’s day in a Somerset garden was the idyllic setting on Saturday 18 July, for a gathering of members of the Housman Society,…